Amateur Fumblings

Home Forums Woodturning Gallery Amateur Fumblings

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by brodylee brodylee 3 years, 1 month ago.

• Author
    Tom
    Tom
    Participant
    • Skype Name:

I am a complete amateur. Apart from a few hours hands on training, and my Higher woodwork at school, I am completely self taught. I am having issues with alignment on my Record Power lathe, so occasionally have some strange effects on what I turn.
    This little box is in ash. The knot almost fell out, so is secured with sawdust & CA glue.

Ash Box

Inside Ash Box

Ash Box Bottom

Finish is shellac friction polish

luke
    luke
    Participant
    • Skype Name:

that looks great tom

As I have only been turning for not even a year I would love to know how to make box as I trouble with how to do it.

ed (the amateur) turner
    ed (the amateur) turner
    Keymaster
    • Skype Name:

That looks like a nice job Tom and good to see that you saved the knot

Ed

Tom
    Tom
    Participant
    • Skype Name:

What I do Luke, and I’m not saying this is correct, is mount the cylinder between centres and form a tenon on each end for my chuck.
    I then part what will become the lid off and set this aside.
    Next, I hollow the inside using my ½” bowl gouge leaving the sides slightly thicker than the finished size. In this case I had to glue in the knot which looked like it was going to pop out.
    A run down the inside with a scraper, followed by sanding then finishing.
    Next, I mount the lid in the chuck, form the lip for holding the lid on, and slightly cup the inside before sanding & finishing.
    The body then gets re-mounted in the chuck with the lid clipped firmly on. If the lid is not a good fit, wedge it on with some damp tissue. For preference I use the blue paper rolls you see in petrol stations. (£12 buys a load from Ebay)