Hi, I'm Frank

Home Forums Who are you? Hi, I'm Frank

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  digby 7 months ago.

• Author

digby
    Participant
    • Skype Name:

Hi everybody,

I’m new to wood turning and have made the mistake of buying a small wood lathe. After a couple of months using it I have made some quite acceptable pieces that I am quite proud of. I wish however I had bought a much larger lathe as the one I have is quite limited to he size of wood that can be turned.

I have just invested in a set of Robert Sorby chisels which are great but I now need a good sharpener I have been looking at the pro edge but it is rather expensive.

I’m now in a quandary as to what to do next. I have found a 5 day wood turning course I wood like to go on but if I did I know I would not be satisfied with my little lathe and want a larger one and a lot more tools. I probably could afford this but keep saying to myself do I really want to spend all this money to produce dozens of pots and bowls.

I am enjoying wood turning as a hobby but don’t want to turn it into a business so what would I do with them?

Dunc
    Dunc
    Keymaster
    • Skype Name:

Hi Frank, welcome to the Oliver’s Woodturning forum.

There are a number of items you could produce with a smaller lathe. Pens are popular. You could create salt and pepper shakers. Maybe some clocks.

Have a look around and see what other people have made and see if they give you any inspiration.

The Pro Edge is a great machine by the way, ask anyone who uses one. Yes, they cost more than a bench grinder but they are set up to give perfect grinds every time.

digby
      Participant
      • Skype Name:

Hi Dunc, I have made quite a few different items, egg cups trinket boxes honey dribblers and loades more and have gradually got better especially after buying from Oliver’s, wood finish, Yorkshire Grit and sanding paper, my latest works look quite professional.