Just starting out

Home Forums Who are you? Just starting out

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by ed (the amateur) turner ed (the amateur) turner 7 months ago.

• Author

Tim Cornwall
    Participant
    • Skype Name:

Hi, My name is Tim , and I’m just starting  out into the world of woodturning, a Bit about me, my first  meeting with woodturning was watching my farther at his lathe as a young boy (he was a antique restorer by trade) I remember being fascinated by it , I did nothing about it for about 50 years (i’m now in my mid 50’s ), as I was into motorbikes and sport from a very young age, then married life and a son took over and I have never had the time.

About 2 years ago I had a hip replacement, and while off work I went to the local newsagents and was looking through the magazines and come across  the woodturning magazine, well it stirred up memories for me again.

with my son growing up and soon not needing dad to take to rugby and cricket all the time , I could see me having more spare time, and thought woodturning will be the ideal hobby, so in August this year I took myself off to see Tom Pockley at iden for a 2 day course, needless to say I was hooked, and what a teacher.

last month I started clearing the garden for a space for a workshop, and I now have a 9×16 shop in place, this weekend I will be insulating it and dry lining  ready for the electrics to go in ( I have looked at woody’s with envy and am trying to pinch some ideas hope you don’t mind Woody).

I have no lathe yet or tools , they will have to wait till I can save up some cash, no doubt I will be making my way to Oliver’s for help and advise as suggested by Tom, I also want to join a club either Weald wood turners or Ashdown forest wood turners , any help would be greatly received

ed (the amateur) turner
    ed (the amateur) turner
    Keymaster
    • Skype Name:

Hi Tim