What to commission?

Home Forums Chit Chat What to commission?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      • Skype Name:

Hello

I am slightly invading this forum as I have no experience or knowledge of wood turning. I have however had to cut down (not personally) a number of trees from our garden. Silver birches, a large sycamore, some other that I can’t remember off the top of my head and the future of a very large birch is not looking bright (nor is the room behind it).

We still have a lot of the logs and I would like to commission something out of them but am not sure what. Ideally I would love to have a set of deep and shallow bowls made but the cost of a building restoration means that is not possible right now and is unlikely until we are finished (probably in about 4 years).

Does the wood need to season (?) and how long could we keep it for before it is no good.

Does anyone have any suggestions of things that I could commission?

Thank you for you help

Carla

Participant
      • Skype Name:

Hi Carla

I’m relatively new to woodturning but have lots of years experience of working with trees. I’ve been doing a lot of research trying to find out how to store freshly cut (green) wood or turning it and storing it. There seem to be risks associated with wood splitting and the splitting can render a lot of the wood unusable for larger projects and involves factors depending on when the tree was cut down, which will likely affect its water content and the species.

I’m only scratching the surface but I think I’m right in saying that if you can regulate and slow down the speed at which the water leaves the wood then you’ve got a better chance of preserving some useable wood in the future.